Author :

Copy of Winners Template (Names removed) (1200 × 675px)

Winners of TSL International Essay Competition and Debate 2022

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The TSL International Essay competition concluded with the School Debate and Summit. The debate and summit were held online from 11-16 July. We had a fruitful week addressing this year’s theme of Climate Justice. The essay competition gathered 1126 entries from 59 countries, with the discussion surrounding racial, gender, economic and generational inequality. The top 10 winners of this year’s essay competition were announced at the award ceremony.  See the winners below according to the categories.

Essay Competition

Primary School

Esther Oyinboade from Pearl Shore, Nigeria, is the recipient of this year’s first prize. Esther’s essay highlights the environmental challenges that her country faces. This includes resource loss due to mismanagement, desert encroachment affecting livestock, water and air pollution, and gender inequalities. As a solution to these issues, Esther recommended afforestation projects, innovative agricultural technologies, implementation of policies, and education to address gender inequalities.

The top 9 winners are listed in the table below.

2DucBui NguyenVietnam
3AnnikaBaberwalUnited Arab Emirates
5HirangaSuraweeraSri Lanka
8AmeliaKirwanUnited Arab Emirates
10AyperiAmanmammedovaUnited Arab Emirates

Secondary School

The first prize and also the Grand Prize winner for the international Essay Competition is Dhruv Bhatt from Bhartiyam International School in India. Dhruv wrote about the social inequalities he faces in the slums of India. He believes that the education of basic sciences will empower young people in vulnerable societies to take action to combat the climate crisis.

Here are the top 9 winners for this category.

2ArianneDaviesUnited Kingdom
2LanaGreensladeUnited Kingdom
3VenukiSenandiSri Lanka
5ValentinaValeryevnaRussian Federation
6IsabellaKiddUnited Kingdom
6SiriMeghanaTrinidad and Tobago
7Stephanie RaneeGatchalianPhilippines
8Lauren VittoriaPeñarandaPhilippines

School Debate

The debate brought together 53 students from 33 countries to share their points of view on addressing the different inequalities to combat the climate crisis. The debate was divided into two categories: Primary and Secondary. In the Primary School category, the debaters addressed generational, economic, gender and racial inequality. In the Secondary School debates, the debaters looked at the inequalities from both the Pro and Con sides. The best teams and best debaters were also recognized.  The winners are listed below.

Primary School

Best overall individual

Ayperi Amanmammedova

Judges’ individual commendations

Annika Baberwal

Avantika Dutt

Petra Spremo

Best teams

Primary 2 – Gender Inequality (Beren Sonmez, Mohamed Ayyub, Bhuvana Gopal, and Avantika Dutt)

Primary 4 – Economic Inequality (Nathan Hombre, Kerim Ince, Esther Oyinboade, Mumudi Gjadeera, Sameeha Sultan, Petra Spremo, and Duc Bui Nguyen)

Secondary School

Group A

Best overall individual

Ananya Verma

Judges’ individual commendations

Dhruv Bhatt

Trudy Patchappen

Jon Edmund Sy

Adjin Ajanovic

Alexandra Todorova

Best teams

Con 2 (Alisha Samosir, Daniel Trencheski, Trudy Patchappen, Quyen Le, Jon Edmund Sy, Koca Djeric)

Group B

Best overall individual

Karin Samedi

Judges’ individual commendations

Sam Walker

Naomi Wilson

Alice Guida

Dua Zafar

Siri Valdamudi

Best teams

Con 4 (Safara Campbell, Taja Lesjak, Kerem Ayhan, Siri Valdamudi, Camilla Luigetti and Zac Chu)

More to explore